Jaw Surgery

Surgery of the jaws (orthognathic)

maxillo-mandibular deformities and orthognathic surgery

Introduction

– Dysmorphosis: shape anomaly.
– Maxillo-mandibular: pertaining to the mandible and maxilla.
– Mandible bone of the lower jaw.
– Jaw: even and symmetrical bone, there is a maxillary left and right bones. Together they form the upper jaw.
– Dysfunctions: functional disorders.
– dental occlusion: so the dental arches that have to be nested one inside the other when the jaws are tightened.
-Airway retro-basi-lingual: part of the upper airway behind the tongue base.
– OSA: Obstructive sleep apnea.

The structure of the adult face is dependent on several factors. One is heredity. Our gene pool from our parents, it makes sense to look like them a minimum. The second factor comes from the stimulation of bone growth nuclei of face soft tissue including muscle. The language placement, lips, how d & rsquo; swallowing and breathing pattern will have during growth a significant impact on the development of bone structures. Sometimes leading to abnormalities in the shape and size of the bony structures of the face (dysmorphoses). Examples of functional disorders leading to deformities

Infant swallowing

During childhood and when power is essentially liquid, swallowing (the act of swallowing) is via a suction phenomenon with the interposition of the tongue between the dental arches. Secondarily swallowing evolves and c & rsquo; is the language that a wave motion that will push the food towards the throat. If the child is kept swallowing, l & rsquo; interposition of the tongue between the dental arches can eventually create an open bite c & rsquo; ie a lack of contact between the upper teeth and lower teeth the incisors. Furthermore the suction phenomenon can deform the dental arches, giving them a form of lyre.

Trouble tongue mobility due to language courses brake

Besides the problems with speech language courses brake prevents to position the tongue at rest. Normally tongue resting spreads in contact with the palate and contributes to the growth of the upper jaw. During a brake prevents the tongue to position the palace and may be responsible for & rsquo; too narrow and underdeveloped upper jaw.

Mouth breathing

The normal breathing at rest should be through the nose. Going through the nasal cavity temperature and humidity of & rsquo; air are regulated. Large adenoids or a deviated septum may limit the nasal breathing Actions and lead to a preferential mouth breathing at rest. This results in abnormal stress on bone growth nuclei of the mandible thus altering its final form.

The different dysmorphoses

There are several types of deformities that often s & rsquo; combine them. They are often diagnosed first by the dentist and the orthodontist because they generally result in a misalignment of the dental arches relative to the other. It could be :

– abnormalities of relations between the jaws. With two jaw too far forward in relation to the & rsquo; other and the rest of the face. Generating such prognatie or retrognatie.

– facial length abnormality. The face may be too long or too short it results in appearance too fine or too large otherwise face.

– Fault smile. The bony elements of the face are covered by the facial soft tissues. A positioning defect of bone structures by reports to soft tissue can result in several abnormalities smile. This can be important with gingival appearance and sometimes unsightly gum. Or rather the smile can be "toothless" with insufficient uncovering teeth.

– chin abnormality. The front part of the lower jaw which supports the soft tissues of the chin and lower lip may be too much or not enough developed. This can cause a bad position of the lower lip with consequences for teeth and gums.

– facial asymmetry. Sometimes there are imbalances between the left and right sides of the face can be aesthetically annoying if significant.

The balance of dysmorphoses

These various deformities require precise diagnosis and a comprehensive multidisciplinary assessment (attending dentist, orthodontist, maxillofacial surgeon, Speech Therapist, physiotherapist). The goal is to diagnose faults and their causes in order to minimize the risk of recurrence after the treatment performed. Furthermore it is important to review any related conditions: poor dental status, Obstructive sleep apnea, snoring, temporomandibular dysfunction and bruxism. Their ignorance can be detrimental to the success of the treatment and its outcome.

The balance sheet includes an interview and clinical examination oriented structural defects but also functional abnormalities of the face. Casts of dental arches and study models are necessary to appreciate the size and shape of the dental arches and teeth placement. Imaging tests are also needed to explore the bone structure of the face.

The management of dysmorphoses

If deformities are diagnosed during growth can sometimes be corrected by an orthopedic treatment by an orthodontist. However once growth over osseous abnormalities of the face remain and if they are important, it is necessary to resort to surgery to correct.

Conversely teeth move throughout life. It is for this reason that in the vast majority of cases when surgical correction of deformities is envisaged the use of orthodontic treatment is essential. Furthermore teeth are also subject to the above-mentioned functional problems and therefore they must be corrected on pain of teeth move again even after surgery and orthodontics.

From a general point of view the medico-surgical treatment sequence is as follows: an orthodontic phase, then the correction of deformities surgery followed by another orthodontic phase and finally the surgical removal of the material that had been implanted during the first intervention. Meanwhile it may be necessary to carry out monitoring by a speech therapist and a physical therapist or to support dysfunctions.

The entire management is often long (2 years in general) and multidisciplinary, revolving around the patient trio, orthodontist and maxillofacial surgeon. The harmony and understanding among all of them is essential for good results and patient satisfaction.

Orthognathic surgery

Orthognathic surgery is to correct maxillofacial deformities by changing the bone structure of the face. The overall goal is to place the dental arches in good position while integrating these movements in the overall structure of the face. Although this surgery has often important aesthetic impact its essence is to be functional in particular by standardizing the dental articulation. Surgery is very standardized, it consists in detaching the rest of the bone structure of the face the problem item, to replace it in a good position and then fix it using mini plates and screws mini. Several actions can be performed during the same intervention and that based on the diagnosed dysmorphoses.

Les osteotomies sagittales mandibulaires

They correct the lower jaw. Several movements of bone structures are possible (this list is not exhaustive).

The mandibular advancement

It advances the upper jaw relative to the rest of the face and involves: a chin projection, expanding the corners of the jaw, increased Neck mentonière distance and effect "lifting" in retendant soft tissues of the lower third of the face. The mandibular advancement also increases airway caliber retro basi-lingual which can be useful in case of obstructive sleep apnea syndrome whose origin is precisely a narrowing of this anatomical area.

The mandibular setback

This movement has the opposite effects of mandibular advancement and therefore we must be very careful in this case regarding a possible obstructive sleep apnea syndrome.

The osteotomy Lefort 1

It fixes the upper jaw. Several movements of bone structures are possible (this list is not exhaustive).

The maxillary advancement

It advances the upper jaw relative to the rest of the face and causes: a filling of nasolabial folds, a widening of the nasal wings and effect "lifting" in retendant soft tissues of the middle third of the face. The maxillary advancement tightens the soft palate which may be useful in cases of sleep apnea obstructive (OSA) whose origin is too long or too flabby and sailing.

The maxillary expansion

It increases the transverse diameter of the upper jaw and causes: a fuller smile, a widening of the nasal wings, increased language resting volume allow better positioning it. Moreover maxillary expansion tightens the soft palate with the consequences that were mentioned above in case of OSA. Moreover, this intervention can improve nasal breathing by widening the base of the nasal cavity and pear-shaped holes.

The maxillary impaction

It aims to reduce the height of the middle third of the face. This fixes a gummy smile and close the nasolabial angle.

The maxillary épaction

This is the inverse movement of the impaction with opposite effects. This will discover the smile when it does not show enough teeth.

It is entirely possible to achieve at the same time operative act on the upper jaw and an act on the lower jaw. They may also be associated, always at the same intervention, to genioplasty for correcting the chin, a septoplasty in case of disorder of the nasal septum, to turbinoplasty if the inferior turbinates require and finally to the avulsion of wisdom teeth

Chirurgie des machoires

Chirurgie des machoires (orthognatique)

Dysmorphoses maxillo-mandibulaires et chirurgie orthognatique

Introduction

– Dysmorphose : anomalie de forme.
– Maxillo-mandibulaires : qui se rapporte à la mandibule et au maxillaires.
– Mandibule : os de la mâchoire inférieure.
– Maxillaire : os pair et symétrique, il existe un os maxillaire gauche et un droit. Ensemble ils forment la mâchoire supérieure.
– Dysfonctions : troubles fonctionnels.
– Articulé dentaire : manière qu’ont les arcades dentaires à s’imbriquer l’une dans l’autre lorsque les mâchoires sont serrées.
-Voies aériennes retro-basi-linguales : partie des voies aériennes supérieures se trouvant derrière la base de langue.
– SAOS : syndrome d’apnées obstructives du sommeil.

La structure du visage adulte est dépendante de plusieurs facteurs. Le premier est l’hérédité. Notre capital génétique provenant de nos parents, il est logique de leur ressembler un minimum. Le deuxième facteur provient de la stimulation des noyaux de croissance osseux de la face par les tissus mous et notamment les muscles. Le placement de la langue, des lèvres, la manière d’avaler et la manière de respirer vont avoir au cours de la croissance un impact important sur le développement des structures osseuses. Conduisant parfois à des anomalies de la forme et de la taille des structures osseuses du visage (dysmorphoses). Voici quelques exemples de troubles fonctionnels menant à des dysmorphoses

La déglutition infantile

Pendant l’enfance et lorsque l’alimentation est essentiellement liquide, la déglutition (l’action d’avaler) se fait via un phénomène de succion avec interposition de la langue entre les arcades dentaires. Secondairement la déglutition évolue et c’est la langue qui par un mouvement de vague qui va pousser les aliments vers la gorge. Si la déglutition infantile est conservée, l’interposition de la langue entre les arcades dentaires peut créer à terme une béance antérieure c’est à dire une absence de contact entre les dents du haut et les dents du bas au niveau des incisives. Par ailleurs le phénomène de succion peut déformer les arcades dentaires en leur donnant une forme de lyre.

Trouble de la mobilité linguale en raison d’un frein de langue cours

Outre les problèmes d’élocution un frein de langue cours empêche de bien positionner la langue au repos. Normalement la langue au repos s’étale au contact du palais et contribue à la croissance de la mâchoire du haut. Un frein cours empeche la langue de se positionner au palais et peut être responsable d’une mâchoire supérieure trop étroite et insuffisamment développée.

La respiration buccale

La respiration normale au repos doit se faire par le nez. En passant par les fosses nasales la température et l’humidité de l’air sont régulées. De grosses végétations adénoïdes ou une cloison nasale déviée peuvent limiter les possibilités de respiration nasale et conduire à une respiration buccale préférentielle au repos. Il en résulte des contraintes anormales sur les noyaux de croissance osseux de la mandibule modifiant ainsi sa forme définitive.

Les différentes dysmorphoses

Il existe plusieurs types de dysmorphoses qui souvent s’associent entre elles. Elles sont souvent diagnostiquées en premier par le dentiste et l’orthodontiste puisqu’elles se traduisent généralement par un mauvais alignement des arcades dentaires l’une par rapport à l’autre. Il peut s’agir :

– d’anomalies de rapports entre les mâchoires. Avec une des deux mâchoires trop en avant par rapport à l’autre et par rapport au reste de la face. Engendrant par exemple prognatie ou retrognatie.

– d’anomalie de longueur du visage. Le visage peut être trop long ou trop court il en résulte un aspect trop fin ou au contraire trop large du visage.

– d’anomalie du sourire. Les éléments osseux de la face sont  recouverts par les tissus mous du visage. Une anomalie de positionnement des structures osseuses par rapports aux tissus mous peut entraîner plusieurs anomalies du sourire. Celui-ci peut être gingival avec apparition importante et parfois disgracieuse des gencives. Ou au contraire le sourire peut être « édenté » avec un découvrement insuffisant des dents.

– d’anomalie du menton. La partie avant de la mandibule qui soutient les tissus mous du menton et la lèvre inférieure peut être trop ou pas assez développé. Cela peut occasionner une mauvaise position de la lèvre inférieure avec des conséquences sur les dents et les gencives.

– d’asymétrie faciale. Il existe parfois des asymétries entre les cotés gauche et droit du visage pouvant être gênantes esthétiquement si elles sont importantes.

Le bilan des dysmorphoses

Ces différentes dysmorphoses nécessitent un diagnostic précis ainsi qu’un bilan global et pluridisciplinaire (dentiste traitant, orthodontiste, chirurgien maxillo-facial, orthophoniste, kinésithérapeute). Le but étant de diagnostiquer les anomalies et leurs causes afin de limiter au maximum les risques de récidives une fois le traitement effectué. Par ailleurs il est important de faire le point sur d’éventuelles pathologies associées : mauvais état bucco-dentaire, syndrome d’apnées obstructives du sommeil, ronflements, dysfonctions temporo-mandibulaires et bruxisme. Leur méconnaissance peut être préjudiciable au bon déroulement du traitement et à son résultat final.

Le bilan comporte un interrogatoire et examen clinique orientés sur les anomalies structurelles mais aussi sur les anomalies fonctionnelles du visage. Des moulages des arcades dentaires et des modèles d’étude sont nécessaires apprécier la taille et la forme des arcades dentaires ainsi que le placement des dents. Des examens d’imagerie sont également indispensables pour explorer la structure osseuse de la face.

La prise en charge des dysmorphoses

Si les dysmorphoses sont diagnostiquées pendant la croissance il est parfois possible de les corriger par un traitement orthopédique effectué par un orthodontiste. Cependant une fois la croissance terminée  les anomalies osseuses de la face demeurent et si elles sont importantes, il est nécessaire d’avoir recours à la chirurgie pour les corriger.

A contrario les dents se déplacent pendant toute la vie. C’est pour cette raison que dans l’immense majorité des cas lorsqu’une correction chirurgicale des dysmorphoses est envisagée le recours à un traitement orthodontique est indispensable. De plus les dents sont également soumises aux troubles fonctionnels sus-cités et donc ceux-ci doivent être corrigées sous peine de voir les dents se déplacer de nouveau même après la chirurgie et l’orthodontie.

D’un point de vue général la séquence de traitement medico-chirurgicale est la suivante : une phase d’orthodontie puis la chirurgie de correction des dysmorphoses suivi d’une autre phase d’orthodontie et enfin le retrait chirurgical du matériel qui avait été implanté lors de la première intervention. Parallèlement il peut être nécessaire de réaliser un suivi par un orthophoniste et ou un kinésithérapeute pour prendre en charge les dysfonctions.

La totalité de la prise en charge est souvent longue (2 ans en général) et multidisciplinaire, s’articulant autour du trio patient, orthodontiste et chirurgien maxillo-facial. La bonne entente et la bonne compréhension entre tous ces acteurs est indispensable à de bons résultats et à la satisfaction du patient.

La chirurgie orthognatique

La chirurgie orthognatique vise à corriger les dysmorphoses maxillo-faciales en modifiant la structure osseuse de la face. Le but général étant de replacer les arcades dentaires en bonne position tout en intégrant dans ces mouvements la structure globale du visage. Même si ce type de chirurgie a un impact esthétique souvent important son essence même est d’être fonctionnelle notamment en normalisant l’articulé dentaire. La chirurgie est très standardisée, elle consiste à détacher du reste de la structure osseuse de la face l’élément posant problème, à le replacer en bonne position puis à le fixer à l’aide de mini-plaques et de mini vis. Plusieurs actes peuvent être réalisés au cours de la même intervention et cela en fonction des dysmorphoses diagnostiquées.

Les ostéotomies sagittales mandibulaires

Elles corrigent la mâchoire inférieure. Plusieurs mouvements des structures osseuses sont possibles (cette liste n’est pas exhaustive).

L’avancée mandibulaire

Elle avance la mâchoire supérieure par rapport au reste de la face et entraîne : une projection du menton, un élargissement des angles de la mâchoire, une augmentation de la distance cervico-mentonière et effet « liftant » en retendant les tissus mous du tiers inférieur du visage. L’avancée mandibulaire augmente également le calibre des voies aériennes retro basi-linguales ce qui peut être utile en cas de syndrome d’apnées obstructives du sommeil dont l’origine serait un justement un rétrécissement de cette zone anatomique.

Le recul mandibulaire

Ce mouvement a les effets inverses de l’avancée mandibulaire et par conséquent il faut être très vigilant dans ce cas en ce qui concerne un éventuel syndrome d’apnées obstructives du sommeil.

L’ostéotomie de Lefort 1

Elle corrige la mâchoire supérieure. Plusieurs mouvements des structures osseuses sont possibles (cette liste n’est pas exhaustive).

L’avancée maxillaire

Elle avance la mâchoire supérieure par rapport au reste de la face et entraîne : un comblement des sillons naso-geniens, un élargissement des ailes narinaires et effet « liftant » en retendant les tissus mous du tiers moyen du visage. L’avancée maxillaire retend le voile du palais ce qui peut être utile en cas de syndrome d’apnées obstructives du sommeil  (SAOS) dont l’origine serait un voile trop long et ou trop flasque.

L’élargissement maxillaire

Il augmente de diamètre transversal de la mâchoire supérieure et entraîne :  un sourire plus ample, un élargissement des ailes narinaires, une augmentation du volume de repos de la langue permettent un meilleur positionnement de celle-ci. Par ailleurs l’élargissement maxillaire retend le voile du palais avec les conséquences qui ont été mentionnées plus haut en cas de SAOS. D’autre part cette intervention peut améliorer la ventilation nasale en élargissant la base des fosses nasales et des orifices pyriformes.

L’impaction maxillaire

Elle vise à diminuer la hauteur du tiers moyen de la face. Cela permet de corriger un sourire gingival et de fermer l’angle naso-labial.

L’épaction maxillaire

Il s’agit du mouvement inverse de l’impaction avec les conséquences inverses. Cela permet de découvrir le sourire lorsque celui-ci ne montre pas suffisamment les dents.

Il est tout à fait possible de réaliser dans le même temps opératoire un acte sur la mâchoire supérieur et un acte sur la mâchoire inférieure. Ils peuvent aussi être associés, toujours lors de la même intervention, à une génioplastie pour la correction du menton, à une septoplastie en cas de trouble de la cloison nasale, à une turbinoplastie si les cornets inférieurs le nécessitent et enfin à l’avulsion des dents de sagesses